black beans

the result of a can of black beans to the foot:

Linley and I decided to pick up a few things after leaving the chiropractor’s office today, so we headed to the store. Instead of having the little lady ride ON the cart, I put her car seat down inside so I wouldn’t have to keep a hold of her while shopping, thus putting all of the groceries in the ‘top portion’ see image below:

well, I didn’t have the flap up covering the leg openings on the top where an older babe would sit (silly me) so the can rolled out and it. hurt. real. bad! No, I did not curse the beans, but I did learn to shop smarter next time.

So as to not shame the black beans below is a burger recipe my friend Sydney shared with me a couple of years ago, and it’s been a favorite Asayplacey dinner ever since!

BLACK BEAN BURGERS (note: measurements are to taste)

1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 egg

1 can (mini?) green chilies

1 cup bread crumbs (or more if too sticky)

1-2 t cumin

1-2 t chile powder

1-2 cloves of garlic (or use garlic salt)

salt/pepper to taste.

Puree beans (or mash well). Mix above ingredients together. Form patties. Coat in corn meal. Fry in oil until crispy on the outside! We typically top with pico, avocado, and mayo, but try anything you like!

Yes. this is how I typically cook. a little of this and that and we’ll see how it turns out. I think that’s how really tasty new foods come about!

One thought on “black beans

Leave a Reply

